top of page


Henrietta and Jack Avart Memorial Award 
Presented to the Orthopedic Surgery Resident who has exhibited exceptional competency in Orthopedic surgery during their training program.

Gregory Gilson, DO (2021)
Adam Dialectos, DO (2019)
Nicholas Grimm, DO (2018)
Scott Doroshow, DO (2017)
Callista L. Costopoulos, DO (2016)

Braidy C. Shambaugh, DO (2016)

Jack Whitaker, DO (2015)

Paul Sibley, DO (2014)

Arlene R. Sachs – The Road Less Traveled Award
Resident who has demonstrated both academic and clinical excellence in the practice of Orthopedic Surgery and has excelled all expectations in going beyond that which is expected in the service of patient care, consistently choosing the road less traveled.

Ahmed Siddiqi, DO, MBA (2019)
Nicholas Grimm, DO (2018)
Stephanie Grilli, DO (2017)
Braidy C. Shambaugh, DO (2016)
Stephen Sizer, DO (2015)
Paul Sibley, DO (2014)

John J. McPhilemy - Resident Teaching Award
Named after Dr. John J. McPhilemy, who has been PCOM’s program chairman for over 30 years and has built the program into one of the premier residency programs in Philadelphia. Dr. McPhilemy has dedicated his career to resident education and teaching. This award is presented to a graduating senior resident for excellence in teaching their peers. The award is voted on by their fellow residents (PGY1-PGY4). 


Alfonso Arevalo, DO (2022)

Tyler Smith, DO (2021)

Stephen Casey, DO (2020)

Ahmed Siddiqi - Resident Research Award

Named after Ahmed Siddiqi, DO, MBA (Class of 2019) who created and implemented an official resident research curriculum for the PCOM orthopedic residency program. He initiated a faculty Orthopedic Research Committee (ORC) that has since become integral to the orthopedic residency. This award is presented to a senior resident that has demonstrated prolific research productivity during residency. The award is voted on by the panel of the ORC and is based on the cumulative number, quality, and high impact research. 


Alfonso Arevalo, DO (2022)

Anthony Viola, DO (2021)

Tyler Smith, DO (2020)

Academic Excellence Award

This award is determined and presented by the Program Chairman and Program Director to the graduating senior resident who has demonstrated academic excellence and obtained the highest cumulative OITE score throughout residency. 


Nancy Campbell, DO (2022)

Anthony Judice, DO (2021)

Spencer Smith, DO (2020)

Annual Grand Rounds Best Poster Award

This award is determined and presented by the ORC to the resident with the best clinical study and poster that is presented at the annual grand rounds in the spring of the academic year.


Aakash Patel, DO (2022)

Joseph D'Alonzo, DO & Zachary Wells, DO (2021)

Joe Wazen, DO (2020)

bottom of page